Unshakable Hope

“May the God of hope fill you with all joy and peace in believing, so that you will abound in hope by the power of the Holy Spirit.” (Romans 15:13)

God Doesn’t Make Sense!

The fact that God’s nature was difficult for me to understand used to be a real challenge to my faith. This was especially true after being diagnosed with ALS. I don’t remember ever asking God “Why me?” but I naturally wondered why God would allow this or any other horrible disease to strike anyone. I began to rethink everything I knew, or thought I knew, about this being we call God.

One of the first things I studied was the Christian definition of God; the Christian belief that God is made up of three separate beings (Father, Son and Spirit) that are actually one being. This doesn’t make sense! I have heard many different analogies that attempted to explain this concept of this three-in-one God by everyone from children’s church pastors to highly-educated Theologians, but I still don’t get it! I know better than anyone that I’m far from being the sharpest knife in the drawer, but after many years of trying to figure out this concept of what we simply call the Trinity, I’ve concluded that no one is able to explain this Triune God in terms that are understandable to even the razor-sharp knives among us. And, I’m now okay with this because –

If we were able to understand God in human terms, He wouldn’t be God; He’d be a man.

C.S. Lewis was one of the best Christian apologists of the twentieth century, but before becoming a follower of Christ, he was an outspoken atheist. He concluded that there was no God because the idea of God didn’t make sense to him. He wondered why a supposedly loving God would allow his mother to die when he was just ten years old. He also wondered why a God that claims to care so much for His creation would permit the horrors he witnessed as a soldier in World War One. I imagine a lot of people asked similar questions after seeing innocent people being killed and maimed in Boston and in West, Texas. But, ironically, it was also this seemingly nonsensical nature of God that brought Lewis back to the God of Christianity.

“Iron sharpens iron, So one man sharpens another.” (Proverbs 27:17)

As a professor at Oxford, Lewis and some other professors, including his fellow professor and friend, the author J.R.R. Tokien (Lord of the Rings) formed a group where they would meet and discuss Philosophy, Theology and other “Big issues.” Tolkien was a Christian and he began challenging Lewis’ conclusions about God. Like me and so many others that have come to a crossroad, Lewis began to rethink his beliefs about this mysterious God.

lewis

 “Atheism turns out to be too simple” – CS Lewis

Lewis also came to the conclusion that mere mortals were unable to fully comprehend what we call the Trinity. And, like me and those who understand the implications of this conclusion, this idea of an incomprehensible God intrigued Lewis. He eventually ditched his “simple” atheism and turned to a complex God.

He wrote: “On the human level one person is one being, and any two persons are two separate beings… On the Divine level you still find personalities; but up there you find them combined in new ways which we, who do not live on that level, cannot imagine…If Christianity was something we were making up, of course we could make it easier. But it is not. We cannot compete, in simplicity, with people who are inventing religions. How could we? We are dealing with Fact. Of course anyone can be simple if he has no facts to bother about…Reality, in fact, is always something you couldn’t have guessed. That’s one of the reasons I believe Christianity. It’s a religion you couldn’t have guessed.”  

Why do we expect to understand why God allows tragedy and heartache when we cannot even comprehend the makeup of God? We haven’t yet even figured out why people do the things they do. God sees the Big Picture – the eternal picture, the picture that we’re incapable of seeing. For that reason alone we should give Him the benefit of the doubt when tragedy strikes.

“For My thoughts are not your thoughts, Nor are your ways My ways,” declares the LORD. “For as the heavens are higher than the earth, So are My ways higher than your ways And My thoughts than your thoughts.” (Isaiah 55:8-9)

Single Post Navigation

123 thoughts on “God Doesn’t Make Sense!

Comment navigation

  1. verawrites on said:

    One of the things I thank God for is that he made me a person who is comfortable with not know or understanding some things – like the Trinity, and the ‘why does God…?’ questions. Thank you for this thoughtful post, Bill.

  2. As to the question of the existence of one being as three, or the Trinity, and forgive me if this has been mentioned in previous comments, but God exists as three in much the same way as one of the elements he created…i.e. water. Ice, liquid, and gas, or vapor. The same element, in three forms, much as God exists as Himself, His Son, and His Holy Spirit.

    I love your message and enjoy your words.

    Cheers
    Taco ‘Merica

  3. Pingback: Liebster Award | Ran The Gauntlet

  4. Pingback: God Doesn’t Make Sense! | Tidbits & Treasures

  5. What an excellent post! God has given you such a powerful ministry in the midst of your struggle.

    I’ve always been a huge C.S. Lewis fan. Even though God didn’t make complete sense to him, Lewis makes complete sense out of Christianity to me. I continue to be inspired by his insights and challenged by his practical faith. Someday I can’t wait to shake his hand and tell him just how important his conversion to Christianity became to so many of us.

    • Thank you very much for your encouraging comments. I am a huge C.S Lewis fan too; even though he’s been dead since I was 3 years old, I feel as if I know him from reading his books…

  6. love this. 🙂
    I nominated you for a few awards. To collect them plz click this link and follow the simple instructions. You deserve them because you are a great writer and a blessing.
    http://godcrazzzy.wordpress.com/2013/05/23/six-awards-really/

  7. Hi, I have nominated you for The Super Sweet Blogger Award! Your blog is incredible!!
    http://geraldinevanbiljon.wordpress.com/2013/05/22/a-kid-gone-wild-on-wayyy-to-much-candy/

  8. Thank you so much for your article. I too have struggled with senseless tragedies and pondered why God allows horrible pain and heartache and had to come to the same conclusion as the verse. God is God and I am not. I cannot understand his ways as they are far above my level of understanding. They are the ways of the Almighty Creator of the universe. Thank you for stopping by my blog

  9. I am so awesomely happy that I found your site! I love your writing and inspiration. Brother, your heart is definitely laid bare for all to see, but—- That is a good thing for we ARE to be transparent to one another. The Bible tells us that from the abundance of the heart, the mouth speaks and I like to paraphrase that and say from the abundance of the heart, the hand writes! Those who love the Lord, talk (or write) about their Love!!

    I praise the Lord and thank the Holy Spirit for His leading. It looks like I have a LOT of reading to do here! LOL! But I WILL be following! What a breath of fresh Spiritual air!!

    God bless you abundantly AND richly!

  10. Spot on! The beauty of faith is in the fact that it’s all about letting go of the responsibility (and the concurrent anxiety, stress, and pressure) of trying to “know.” It is the acknowledgment that His ways are higher than our ways. It is the acknowledgment that he is the only omnipotent, omniscient, and omnipresent being. Thankfully, He’s on our side! How amazing that He loves us!

  11. In my early years in salvation, I’d shake in my boots whenever I thought about the concept of eternity because I “knew” it was an improbable one. Now I am no longer afraid because I am learning to have faith in a God who is greater than I could ever have imagined.

  12. Brilliant message! Thank you for reminding us His ways are far above our ways!

  13. God’s revelation about Himself seems to come most abundantly and fluidly, when I rest in the realization that it really is okay to find HOPE in that which we do not understand.

  14. Reblogged this on Enough Tribulations – Peace & Deliverance Ministry and commented:
    This is so inspirational. I had to reblog. Thanks for sharing.

Comment navigation

Leave a Reply

