Unshakable Hope

“May the God of hope fill you with all joy and peace in believing, so that you will abound in hope by the power of the Holy Spirit.” (Romans 15:13)

Thankful

When I was diagnosed with ALS in 1996, at the age of 36, the Neurologist’s prognosis was that I probably would not live to see my 40th birthday. Our girls were only seven and four years old at that time.

Lauren, Leah and me about the time I was diagnosed

Lauren, Leah and me about the time I was diagnosed

I naturally thought of everything I would miss; like high school and college graduations, interrogating their dates, giving them away on their wedding day and the birth of my grandchildren.

I am so thankful that the Neurologist’s prediction was wrong:

I’ve lived to see both of our daughters graduate from high school and college.

Lauren and Leah

leah graduation

I gave Lauren away on her wedding day two years ago.

Lauren and James

Lauren and James

And last week I became a Grandfather!

Lauren and Jude

Lauren and Jude

Because heaven is our ultimate future and Christ is our hope, the following verse is true for all Christians – even those of us that are facing difficult trials and those who’ve gone on to their ultimate future at an early age:

“For I know the plans that I have for you,’ declares the LORD, “plans for welfare and not for calamity to give you a future and a hope.” (Jeremiah 29:11)

Single Post Navigation

211 thoughts on “Thankful

Comment navigation

  1. The True Light! on said:

    A great story my friend! Thanks for sharing…

    Steve

  2. Praise God for all His many blessing Bill! What love our Father has lavished upon you ;=) Thanks for sharing Bill.

    Be A Blessing!

    LaTrice

  3. Dear Bill,
    Missing your voice these days, but happy to find this post from December 2013. I pray God is still surprising you with unexpected gifts and blessings! God bless you and your dear family in this new year.
    Elouise

  4. I loved reading this! GOD is so GOOD all the time and all the time GOD is so GOOD! I am excited–I’ll be a grandma in January (2015) with a new granddaughter. I am happy at all the blessings God is giving me, too. I’ll enjoy the time He gives me here, I know where I’m going when He is ready to call me Home. Congratulations on being a grandpa!

  5. Thank you for sharing so openly, Bill. Your walk with the Lord is an inspiration to us all. Only firsthand experience can demonstrate that with God we are in the safest possible hands.

Comment navigation

Leave a Reply

