Unshakable Hope

“May the God of hope fill you with all joy and peace in believing, so that you will abound in hope by the power of the Holy Spirit.” (Romans 15:13)

The True Nature of God

It’s been quite a while since I’ve written a blog post or even been involved in the world of blogging. I needed to take a break, but I’ve missed communicating with my blogging friends.

Usually I write a blog post when a spiritual thought, a thought that I think might help or encourage others, keeps coming to my mind. This is the case with the following post.

A person could become really confused about the nature of God while watching TV and viewing social media, especially during political campaigning. I hear politicians on opposite sides of an issue quoting scripture (usually out of context) in an attempt to legitimize their positions.

Add to this news reports about terrorists slaughtering innocent people in the name of God (Allah), and you can understand why people are confused about this being we call God.

Even within churches there is confusion about the character of God. A man from a church we attended told me that he was dying of cancer. He went on to tell me that he believed God gave him terminal cancer for all the bad things he had done before becoming a Christian. I was shocked and saddened that this man believed that God was out to get him.

I wanted so much to change his confused view of God. I wanted to challenge him by asking why he thought that God waited until he was a Christian to take him out with a cruel disease; why didn’t God just strike him down with lightning when he was living an unrepentant life?

The worst aspect of ALS is not being completely paralyzed and wheelchair-bound. Nor is it having to be fed through a feeding tube (no Thanksgiving dinner for me). Not being able to speak, especially at times like this, is by far the worst aspect of this horrible disease. I really wanted to remind this good Christian man that it was when we were at our worst that Christ died for us.

“God demonstrates His own love toward us, in that while we were yet sinners, Christ died for us.” (Romans 5:8) (If God sent Jesus to die “for us,” than He is for us, not against us).

I was also once confused about the true nature of God. I suppose that I would have been classified as agnostic; I believed that there probably was a God, but I didn’t believe He was a personal God like Christianity teaches. But, as I’ve mentioned in a previous post, I was alone and bored in a hotel room one night when I opened the Gideon Bible on the nightstand and began reading the New Testament.

I don’t mean to sound dramatic, but after reading for a few hours, I really felt that my foggy thinking about God began to clear up. For the first time I realized that Jesus Christ defines the true character of God. Apart from Christ, one is free to redefine God into anything he or she desires Him to be.

After finally making a commitment to follow Christ, before even stepping one foot into a church, I made a commitment to myself that I would never allow popular culture, politicians or even priests and preachers to redefine the God I came to know from reading the New Testament.

That was over thirty years ago and that commitment is challenged virtually every day; but it is still the foundation of the hope and peace I feel when going through difficult trials.

confusion
I have so much to be thankful for this Thanksgiving, but one of the things I’m most thankful for is that, in this confusing and ever-changing world, “God never changes.”

“Jesus Christ is the same yesterday and today and forever.” (Hebrews 13:8)

Single Post Navigation

118 thoughts on “The True Nature of God

Comment navigation

  1. Well said Bill. Thank you for the insights you so faithfully share. I also appreciate your vulnerability in that, even though you are a mature Christian, you’re still learning. You are on the frontlines in faith my friend. Continue to be a strong and courageous witness to the one whom Christ portrayed perfectly. Continue to write and love in your shalom Bill as God reveals himself to you. Your brother in Christ Denny.

  2. Well said Bill. Thanks for the

  3. We do hope you came to see by now, that Jesus is the sent one from God, God’s only begotten son, who is the way to God and not God himself like many in Christendom believe.

    We do hope you found your way to Christianity and left all the human dogma’s and pagan rites to the side.

    Lovely to hear you also bringing the Good News, which was a task the master teacher had given to his disciples, and which true Christians should do as well.

    We wish you lots of strength and a long continuation in spreading the Word of God.

  4. Thank you Bill! I can’t tell you how much I appriciate this post. True to character you said it the best I’ve ever heard.

    I also want to thank you for your encouraging words about my blog. I felt God spoke through you because it came at a time when I was earnestly seeking God for direction. I plan to get back at it and look forward to however God uses me.

    Oh and I am so glad you are back at it as well!

    Blessings!
    Gina

  5. Hey Bill, we miss you! Praying!

  6. I am so glad you have a “voice” through writing. Not long ago I had wondered how you were, and prayed for you. Thank you for pausing in your day and reading and “liking”. Many blessings, God is Good!

  7. I was just thinking about you today, wondering how you are. I hope you’re doing well, and that you’re still as positive and encouraging as you were when you wrote this post. Blessings and love to you. Thank you for reminding me of the true power of Jesus tonight.

  8. Thank God for the Gideon Bibles! I still have one given to me at a VBS in 1977! Even though I did not follow Jesus till 1994 I kept it and would read Proverbs whenever I thought about God. Nice post. It’s true many Christians are confused about God and His salvation. We have the same passion, to help people understand the God we serve. God bless!

  9. The True Light! on said:

    I understand what you are saying. I’ve been going through the same thing myself. But I am being encouraged by a number of people to stay and keep my page open. Not sure what to do just yet, but if you are truly back to blogging again, then “welcome back!”

    ~Steve

  10. As always, inspired and encouraged by your words. God has used you mightily to bolster our faith. I tell people your story all the time. You and your family have been in my prayers these past few weeks.

  11. Bill, I thank God for you! Happy New Year and I hope we hear from you again soon.

    Grace and peace,
    Vanessa

  12. Ahhh! I found you again! As ever, thank you for your encouragement!

  13. The fact that I just read through 75 comments on your recent article about the nature of God is a testimony to the difference you are making in people’s lives. Thank you for re-inforcing my trust in a God who loves and cares for us and who is present with us in all situations and in all places. May God continue to bless your ministry—for it certainly is a ministry!

Comment navigation

Leave a Reply

